John Williamson, Grocer and Wine Merchant, 481 and 483, Sauchiehall Street—
The establishment of this business is of considerable antiquity, dating back to the year 1849, when it was founded in the present premises by Mr. John Williamson. In 1865 the style of the firm was changed to Williamson & MacLeod. In 1870 Mr. John Williamson became the sole proprietor.
The business is carried on in extensive and commodious premises, comprising a large double shop devoted to the grocery and Italian goods, with an additional shop for the wine and spirit department. There is also on the premises a very large area of cellarage, well stocked with a choice selection of wines and spirits of the best brands and finest vintages.
The business of this firm receives in every department the personal supervision of the proprietor, and is conducted with marked ability, energy, and enterprise. There are few, if any, houses more fully representative of all the best features of the various lines engaged in. Mr. Williamson possesses the advantage of long and thorough mercantile experience, and the connections of the firm are well founded upon the eminent reputation it has so long enjoyed.
Back to Index of Firms (1888)